7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 6, 2017 8:44 PM by Erik Bilello

Drawing Elevation View

Frans Labuschagne

Good day everybody

I am new to generating drawings in solidworks.

When drawing vessels in general, an elevation view is required to clearly give the elevation of the nozzles attached to the vessel. When generating drawings from the 3D models, the nozzle orientation is fixed as it is in the model.

Currently, I use different configurations of the same model to create the "flat" view of the vessel. This takes up a lot of time.  I would like to know if solidworks has a function or something that I can use to "flatten" the drawing to a 2D layout?

Thanks in advance!

• Re: Drawing Elevation View
          Jim Paige

Can you post a screenshot?

Frans Labuschagne

Hi Jim

On the screenshot attached, the left side is the as built view while the right side is the flattened view that I am looking for.

Peter Brinkhuis

Is the elevation view not just a side of front view, depending on your model?

Oh wait, is it meant to show the height of every nozzle around the circumference? In that case I have no knowledge of a feature that could create such a view.

Erik Bilello

At a glance, aligned section views might be as close as you will easily get without creating additional configurations.  For a vessel with nozzles at more than 2 angles, as your example shows, you will probably need more than one view.

I don't have anything comparable to your vessel to play with just at present.  Do you have an example of a typical model or assembly you would want to make a drawing of, that you can post?