5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 8, 2009 1:37 PM by John Matrishon

Best practice for modeling in regards to tolerances?

Joe Dunfee
      I am fairly new to high precision manufacturing, so haven't really had to deal with this issue before.

When modeling a part, do you model it at the average size for a part, or do you model it at maximum material so that any worst-case interferences are apparent?

E.g. I have a part 2" +.001" / -.005" Diameter. Should I model it at 2" Dia, or perhaps 2.001" Dia?

I know I can indicate the tolerances on the sketch, and bring them into the drawing. But, I am thinking about the model itself at the moment.

Joe Dunfee
        • Best practice for modeling in regards to tolerances?
          Josh Brady
          It really depends on what you are using the model for and what is most critical. If you are doing the initial design and interference is critical, go ahead and model for MMC. However, if you are going to create a drawing and you want the drawing to show 2" +0.001"/-005" you are going to have to do some fanagaling to get it to show up the way you want. If you are going to be sending the model for CNC, a lot of places want it modeled to the middle of the tolerance zone, although some may want it cheated towards MMC to give room for error. It's always easier to cut material off after inspection than to add it back on.
            Harold Brunt
            A lot of Engineering Departments generate a design guide so that modeling this kind of part is consistant from project to project and designer to designer. If you don't have a guide you might consider generating one.