5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 7, 2017 1:25 PM by Ryan Dark

Buckling, Static, or Nonlinear?

Hayley Walker

Hi all,

I am new to simulations in Solidworks (and Solidworks in general). I am making a drum for a portable toilet, where a force from a seated person is applied to the top rim. I am making a simulation to see if a particular HDPE drum is suitable to purchase for this purpose. I am a little confused about the options when you first create a simulation; should I use Linear, Nonlinear or Buckling? After a google search, buckling seems to suit my purposes, but I wanted to make sure and clarify what each is used for here first, as I tried all three and got different results, particularly for displacement. Also, can anyone clarify the data to help me analyze/make a decision for things like this in general? I have attached some screenshots here. Thanks so much!

• Re: Buckling, Static, or Nonlinear?
          Ryan Dark

Hi Hayley,

In short, this is what each of these study types will show you:

• Linear: This study type only analyzes a model for the linear elastic region of the stress/strain curve of a material.  Any results showing that the load stress is exceeding the yield stress of the applied material invalidates the results.  It would be reasonable to assume the design is a failure since yield stress was exceeded but does not reveal a true behavior of the stress and deformation for results beyond yield stress.
          • Nonlinear: This study type allows for analysis of materials in the linear elastic region but expands on that to include results in the plastic region of materials.  That means that for stress results beyond yield it can be made to accurately represent those stresses and displacements.  Additionally, nonlinear is also capable of analyzing nonlinear material types (like rubber) which the linear elastic and buckling analysis are not capable of.  Nonlinear can also be used to analyze buckling itself in place of the buckling analysis.