AnsweredAssumed Answered

Make assembling different configurations of a robot really easy

Question asked by Felix Lundblad on Jun 26, 2017

Hello,

I am a mechanical engineering student at Lund University in Sweden and I am working on a project for the summer. I am trying to make it as easy as possible to create different configurations of a paint robot from ABB. I also want a BOM with the length of the tubes and so on. I am always using the same robot, IRB 5400 slim but everything else is supposed to be easily customizable. Later on in the project I want to place it in an environment with control cabinets and production lines.

The robot is used as a base with mounting plates on the back and the sides. On these mouting plates I want to be able to practically drag and drop parts, such as pumps and paint blenders and have the parts that I dropped making the holes and the screws should be mounted automatically. I seem to have solved this using smart features. Would you say it is the easiest and best way to make each part that should be mounted into a smart part?

The tubing is where I feel a bit overwhelmed. I want to make the tubing as automatic as possible. Since there are going to be A LOT of tubes in some configurations I want all of the single small tubes to gather up in a big tube. I am also thinking of what options I have in implementing the tubing and which one is the best to use. I am thinking that maybe it is best to add each part and route the tubing immediatly after adding a part instead of adding all of the parts and then take care of the routing. Is there maybe a way to make this incredibly automatic? In a dream world I should be able to give this to my mom with a few quick intructions and she would be on her way. What is the best way of making tubing as easy and automatic when creating different configurations?