22 Replies Latest reply on Jun 25, 2017 1:55 PM by Viktor Ács

What can i use to select instead of booleanstatus?

Viktor Ács

Hi,

i'm new to APIs and I'm curious what can you use instead of booleanstatus to select something. For example, i have selected a line with cursor and i get my object with this line: selMgr.GetSelectedObject6(i, -1)

Then i recorded a macro to convert lines and i got this:

boolstatus = Part.Extension.SelectByID2("Line1@3DSketch47", "EXTSKETCHSEGMENT", -6.24001922330137E-02, 0.186067950480265, 0, False, 0, Nothing, 0)

boolstatus = Part.SketchManager.SketchUseEdge3(False, False)

Is boolstatus a variable? why do i save my selection then my convert command in it, looks so silly. i'm not judging i just really dont understand. anyway here is what i want to do:

swModel.SketchManager.Insert3DSketch True      

For i = 1 To selMgr.GetSelectedObjectCount

If selMgr.GetSelectedObjectType3(i, -1) = 24 Then

'select the lines for convert

boolstatus = selMgr.GetSelectedObject6(i, -1)

'convert the selected line

boolstatus = swModel.SketchManager.SketchUseEdge3 False, False

swModel.ClearSelection2 True

End If

Next i

Thx for any answers.

• Re: What can i use to select instead of booleanstatus?
          Christian Chu

It's just a boolean variable for true/false (such as go/no go or do/don't) and the simplest way to execute your statement - you can make your own but it's way more complicated

John Alexander

I normally use the following pattern if i care what the return value was but don't want to store boolstatus.

if functionThatReturnsBoolean then

do something based on the fact that it was successful

else

do something based on the fact that it wasn't successful

end if

Alternatively,

boolstatus = functionThatReturnsBoolean: Debug.assert boolstatus

Will throw an error at that line when false is returned. This a good pattern when debugging.

Viktor Ács