21 Replies Latest reply on Jun 19, 2017 11:16 AM by Chris Dordoni

UV Unwrapping Advice

Alexander Smith

Hi Everyone.

I am a Solidworks 2015 user and a Visualize 2017 pro user. I am hoping to get some advice on how to UV unwrap a model and apply a texture that I can render within Visualize.

I'm a total newbie at this, though I know I need to learn it. A friend suggested using Blender to do it, though I really struggled with the interface. Is there a 3rd party software that any of you use to create UV textures?

Any advice?

Message was edited by: Alexander Smith

• Re: UV Unwrapping Advice
          Andreas Olofsson

Hi Alexander,

I feel you and I absolutely agree about Blender's UI.

One software that I've come across many years ago is UVLayout. I haven't personally used it with my SW to Visualize workflow, but I think it ought to be able to get the job done.

It's pretty easy to use, check out the videos section for tutorials.

Good luck!

Andreas Olofsson

Don't know why that would be. I've personally downloaded both the trial and purchased the full version and my computer is virus-free.

Chris Dordoni

Does Visualize support loading mesh models with UVs and maps?

Andreas Olofsson

Yes. Unless I'm mistaken Visualize converts imported CAD data into polygonal geometry and generates a UV map for it by default. Just make sure your model's texture mapping is set to "UV".

So a workflow for UV mapping geometry from SW would be to import the model into Visualize, where it is converted to polygons.

Export as .OBJ and import that into UVLayout.

Unwrap and export back to Visualize.

Alexander Smith

Hi Andreas

I have not experienced Visualize making UV maps like the flat patterns, I have spoken with members of the team at Visualize and they don't have any in app UV unwrapping, which is frustrating as I like using the 'monitor file' functionality to keep in touch with the changes made in my engineering models.