8 Replies Latest reply on May 24, 2017 4:47 PM by Peter Brinkhuis

Which API language to learn?

Gordon Rigg

Obviously I am a newbie to this and I don't yet know what I'm talking about...

I'm a little confused, because there seems to be a choice of API language.

When I record a macro, is there some sort of setting that decides what that macro is recorded in?

Or is it that the macro can be opened and edited in a choice of languages? C# VBA etc?

how come the macros I've looked at, recorded, and received from others, all seem to be written in a similar way when they might be different programming languages?

If I am going to figure out have to write this stuff, which one is least likely to become obsolete?

• Re: Which API language to learn?
          Chris Mackedanz

By default if you HAVEN'T changed anything yet, the default language is VBA and the macros are saved with .swb file extension.  Note it is pretty much the same VBA you would use IF you wrote a macro for excel, word...any of those office programs.  The API calls for SolidWorks have just been made available to you a little easier.  Because it is the same it's easy to write a SolidWorks macro that interacts with them and open/save those file types and send out emails.

After you record a macro and the Save As dialog appears you can choose what type of macro you want to save it as.  The VBA macro is probably the most common because it is the default.  But I've recently started to use the VSTA option as the code editor is a little more robust and feature rich.  The VSTA macro is written in VB.NET, similar to VBA but more powerful, feature rich from what I've seen.

There is also the option to write it in C#...if that is more familiar to you.

Also the SolidWorks API help online usually has examples written in all three languages, but not always, so trying to follow those examples for certain tasks can be a bit challenging.