7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 8, 2017 1:24 PM by Aaron Larson

To Task or not to Task

Aaron Larson

Okay - I swear I found a similar post addressing this in the past but am unable to cull it out of the site now. 

The Scenario:

I am looking to invoke some custom code triggered by a workflow change state. Mostly variable updates, file moves, etc.

The Question:

Am I better off using a TASK ADD-IN or using a REGULAR ADD-IN WITH HOOKS?  What are the advantages and disadvantages of each method?

Background: I just started getting involved with EPDM 6 months ago.  I am self taught and do have some decent programming experience (i.e. I'm a dangerous hack).

• Re: To Task or not to Task
          Michael Dekoning

Aaron,

Which is better depends on what you are going to do. Tasks were designed to allow processes to run on a different machine. For example, the Convert Task from SolidWorks can run on a different machine so as to not tie up the user's computer exporting files. For this reason, the user must allow the Task to run on the computer and the Task must be set up to run on that machine. This can be a lot to manage if you create a Task that you want all of your users to run. Tasks can be run on a scheduled basis unlike add-ins which can only be started by the hooks available.

Jeff Sweeney

If all things are equal, I'll do a regular add-in every time. They're less overhead.

Aaron Larson