42 Replies Latest reply on Apr 20, 2017 6:30 PM by David Nelson

How long does it take to get good at solidworks?

Eric Eubanks

I know this is a very vague question, but I'll try to explain it as best as I can.

I started using SW about 6 months ago. I have a 3 hour college class on weekdays. There's no lecturing you just grab a textbook and follow the instructions. There's a teacher there if I have questions, but I got tired of always bothering him so I just use the forums instead.

I'm sure some of you have noticed I'm always asking questions on the forums. Mostly very basic things that I feel like I should know already. How long does it take before you can do almost anything in solidworks without getting stuck multiple times a day and not knowing what to do? I just feel like I'm not very good at SW for doing it for 6 months now.

• Re: How long does it take to get good at solidworks?
          Jim Steinmeyer

I couldn't tell you I learn something new every day, sometimes several things. But then I have only been using it for 12 years.

Honestly using it a only couple of hours a week makes it hard to remember how you did something. Use the student version at home a couple of times a week as well and it will help. Or was that 3 hours a day 5 days a week? If that is the case you need to stop working on new features and focus on a set of features for several different models until you get the hang of that then add something new until you have that.

Dave Dinius

You sure you want to open this can of worms?? Most of the power users here have been using SW for  over 10 years easy and I'm sure they will tell you they are constantly learning new things in the tool (myself included). The learning curve depends on the student. Keep following the forum, lots of good advise here. Keep pushing buttons, I've learned more by asking "what does this do?"

Craig Schultz

Always learning.....18+ years.