7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 5, 2017 12:13 PM by Bill McEachern

Need help reading results

Alex Dring

Our engineer left our company and I been tasked on taking over his duties in modeling.  He was able to teach me how to run a few simulations such as frequency and static for vertical loads.  What he wasn't able to show me is how to determine stiffness of the assembly.  Can anyone walk me thru that?  He did mention to determine stiffness you remove the gravity and change the load to 1 newton.  I am not sure if that is only one newton per foot or one newton for the entire load.  Anyway I run it again and I am not sure what to do from there.  Shown below is URES: Resultant Displacement. (mm).

As you probably already guessed I am no engineer and new to Solidworks as well.  We use inventor for our design work and he got Solidworks just for the simulation.  Any help would be greatly appreciated

• Re: Need help reading results
          Jim Steinmeyer

Alex,

Not to demean or discourage you but this is the very reason I do not like FEA packages like Simulation being as "user friendly" as they are. It is very easy to place constraints and loads on a component and get some very pretty and convincing pictures that have no more value than the paper they are printed on but because they are run on a "sophisticated" program and have very pretty pictures and graphs people will take the results as proof that a design will work. Then the part breaks the first week of use, or worse yet the bridge collapses on a buss load of crippled lawyer's children.