7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 3, 2017 12:46 PM by Tim Webb

Getting Variable Values from Menu Command C#

Sean Donnelly

This code is in C#. I am still learning and am very new. I am trying to work with the examples in the EPDM examples on the help website, but still can't quite figure out how to actually tell it to use the file I selected. I know I need to do something between my EnumeratorVariable vars and the vars.GetVar, but don't understand the connection between the two. The standalone makes sense to me, but not the PDM task method. Can anybody help me? If you were feeling generous perhaps you could also help with my next step: right click menu command on selected file executes a template with variables filled in already from the file you selected. One step at a time though...

public void OnCmd(ref EdmCmd poCmd, ref Array ppoData)

{

//Handle the menu command

{

string Config = "";

EdmVault5 vault = default(EdmVault5);

vault = (EdmVault5)poCmd.mpoVault;

string message = "File created by: ";

object CreatedBy = "";

IEdmEnumeratorVariable5 vars = default(IEdmEnumeratorVariable5);

vars.GetVar("CreatedBy",Config, out CreatedBy);

message += CreatedBy;

vault.MsgBox(poCmd.mlParentWnd, message);

}

}

#endregion

}

}

• Re: Getting Variable Values from Menu Command C#
          Tim Webb

Hey Sean,

Search for the EdmCmdData structure in the API help. It can shed some light on the structure your add-in will receive when it's called.

Here's a briefing:

EdmCmdType.EdmCmd_Menu

The user has activated a menu item or toolbar button that your add-in has added. This command returns a combination of refresh flags in the mlEdmRefreshFlags member of the EdmCmd structure.

EdmCmdData Members

Type

Description

mlObjectID1

integer

ID of file; 0 if a folder is selected

mlObjectID2

integer

ID of folder; 0 if a file is selected

mlObjectID3

integer

ID of parent folder of the selected file or folder

mbsStrData1

string

Name of file or folder, not the full path