25 Replies Latest reply on May 7, 2015 11:22 AM by David Herbert

Queying SQL Database Basics

Michael O'Dell
      Hi,
      I am trying to query our SQL Database in PDMWorks Enterprise to get information on files, specifically if they are checked in our out. I have no DB experience but have been looking at samples all around to see the basics. How would I get information on a file if it is checked in or out? I want to use this in conjunction with the report generator.

Thanks.
        • Queying SQL Database Basics
          Joy Garon
          Michael -

You don't need to use a query. You can do it with a simple search. (see image)

Search the knowledge base for solution S-013369. It will describe how to create reports. You will need knowledge of T-SQL.

Joy
              Michael O'Dell
              Joy,
              What I wanted to do with the checking if it is checked in or out is putting that in a report, I do not know the variable to use that it is stored in, in the table. I was going to modify the example report that is in the PDMWorks install file and include the checked in/out status.

Thanks for your help,
              Michael
                  Joy Garon
                  Try this....

select filename
                  from documents
                  where userid <> 1 and deleted <> 1
                      Michael O'Dell
                      Thanks for your reply,
                      Like I said I am fairly new to SQL coding I am posting the method that I am modifying that was made by SolidWorks to incorporate the checked state. I am not sure where to put your code within that method and what variables are used.

Your code is highlighted

@[DocumentsInWorkflowstate]
                      §Name [Documents in selected workflow state]

§Company [SolidWorks]

§Description
                      [This query lists all documents in a selected state and to which the user has access rights.]

§Version [1.1]

§Arguments
                      [