10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 14, 2017 2:36 PM by Paul Salvador

Sketch references

Corey Ash

Hi, I am new to Solidworks 2017 and am currently geared towards Creo.  I would like to simply select sketch references on the face of a part (edges, plane intersections, circles, etc)  so that my sketch geometry will snap properly in place.  Thanks.

• Re: Sketch references
          Dan Pihlaja

I would start here:

Kyle Craig

Hi Corey,

Can you describe a specific problem?  Perhaps with a screenshot to explain what it is you're trying to achieve? 

when you have a sketch tool active (like line tool) when your sketching on a face, hover over any edge, vertex  to snap to it. keep any eye on what the feedback is telling you next to the cursor.  there is a symbol that shows up for edge,  vertex and face. 

Corey Ash

Hey Kyle,

So I am trying to sketch a rectangle on the surface of a bushing (see below).  The rectangle needs to be symmetric about the centerline and have all 4 corners coincident to the circle.  I need to also draw the arc section between the vertical entities of the rectangle. (In other words, this rectangle represents a saw blade cut to halve the bushing.  In creo, if you created a centerline and established the first corner of the rectangle, the second corner would snap to the other side of the circle and recognize the symmetry about the centerline.  Then I could just trim the outer circle in order to keep the arc length between the cut sketch.  Thanks in advance.

issue1.PNG

Glenn Schroeder

Sketch geometry will snap into place if these options are enabled at Tools > Options > Sketch > Relations/Snaps.

Nathan Rollins

Hi Corey - welcome to SolidWorks!  SWX sketcher constraints work sort of backwards from ProE.  As you're sketching, the cursor shows you inferences that the sketcher will make for you .  Yellow icons will stick and be applied to the sketch, but white icons will put the geometry as is implied, but the constraint will not stick.