10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 15, 2017 8:59 AM by Dave Bear

I cant successfully fully define my sketch

Narveen K.

Hi All,

I am a student in my local university and I am using Solidworks 2016 granted rights from my school,

the issue i have is that i cant successfully define my sketch,

while following a tutorial video link below

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_C8gy-OI1GU&t=324s&list=LLvZMmE95pb2NMaaGI3iTUaQ&index=1

i.e. 5:16 min mark the Tutor proceeded to click a fully define sketch.

I followed his procedure all the way and i get yellow and red lines with dimensions in those colors (refer to attachment)

please help educate me in rectifying this.

Many Thanks

Narveen

• Re: I cant successfully fully define my sketch
          Kevin Pymm

Narveen,

In your sketch you have a point that appears to be under defined as shown in image below. If you try to drag that point it won't move but SolidWorks will fully define the sketch, which is weird because you can still drag the spline handle around (on the left) & adjust the spline.

Narveen K.

Hi Kevin,

thank you for your reply, but i do not understand what u mean

i try to define it and i get this

By any chance have u succeeded in using my file and getting the "fully define sketch tool" with all black lines just like the video cuz i havent and i keep getting prompt making the dimensions driven which i find it weird cuz the video was never prompt with this...

regards

Kevin Pymm

Narveen,

You added an extra dimension (6.05), all I did was drag the blue junction point I circled with my mouse & the sketch became fully defined. I've had this happen in SolidWorks before were SolidWorks thinks it's under defined, you drag the blue portion, it won't move but suddenly the sketch is fully defined without adding any extra dimensions or relations.

Tateos Tvapanyan

Did you uncheck the Relation option?

Capture.JPG

Narveen K.

wow  thanks, what does the relations mean?

Mark McMullen