8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2017 7:56 AM by Mattew Stafford

Lofted Bend Issue

Mattew Stafford

Perhaps I am going about this the wrong way.  I am really new to sheet metal.  The image below represents what I am trying to accomplish, but I am getting an error message: "The bend may be fused with other bend.  To remove this problem try to 1) reduce radius for this feature or 2) Change Facet Value.

I have (2) open sketch's. The top sketch is a 3d sketch and the bottom is a regular sketch.

The top sheet metal feature looks correct, but when I want to create the transition, I get errors.  Even if it did work, does this transition piece connect to the top part?  It would be ideal if it did.

• Re: Lofted Bend Issue
          Mattew Stafford

After conversation with my VAR, it was determined that what I was trying to accomplish is not possible, because: "...the sheet metal piece could not be created because it was a multi-radius bend. Unfortunately at this time SOLIDWORKS is not able to handle those types of

bends."

Casey Bergman

That is a pretty tricky part.  One thing that I have discovered over the years of making transitions like this is that Solidworks still can't make this with the material toward the inside of the profile.  I used the inside of the material to create the sketch and then used a smaller bend radius and it will work.

I have turned this into my VAR and requested this enhancement years ago but it still has not been addressed.  It doesn't make any sense to me, it is the same part.

Mattew Stafford

Thank you Casey Bergman & Dennis Bacon.  Both are viable solutions to what I was trying to accomplish and both touched on the biggest problem.  I was using the outside profile to create my sketch, when I should have used the inside.  Offsetting certain geometry "inward" is a common problem with other software as well & like you said, it is the same part.  I should have remembered that from my years of experience in surfacing.