12 Replies Latest reply on May 12, 2018 10:37 AM by Tedd McHenry

ARAS - on top od PDM Pro or go fo rthe full ARAS solution

Philip Lane

I am a PDM Pro admin who is looking for a company-wide PLM solution.

I have read some on ARAS as being on top of PDM Pro, or it providing a full PDM through to PLM solution, connectors etc.

Obscure licensing and costs models at present, it seems. Or at least they are to me.

I am looking for recommendations / arguements etc for one method or the other.

I like PDM Pro very much as an engineering data management solution for Solidworks and would like to continue working with it, but if similar can be achieved with 1 (set of) tool rather than 2.....and grow PLM out into the whole company etc.

Thank you.

P. Lane.

• Re: ARAS - on top od PDM Pro or go fo rthe full ARAS solution
          Steve Ostrovsky

I can't comment on Aras, but I would suggest one thing. When considering PLM realize that it's a strategy for Product Lifecycle Management, not a single tool (even though many marketing machines will try to convince you otherwise). The components of your PLM strategy will comprise tools such as PDM Pro and others that best fit your business needs. If PDM Pro manages content creation and you need a way to deciminate that information to the rest of your organization, then look for a tool that will communicate easily with PDM Pro and provide a good front end to that particular group of users.

Best of luck to you in your search.

Michael Newell

Hello Philip,

If you have the time I would be interested in hearing what your PLM needs are. For instance BoM Management, Project Management, Reporting, Advanced Processes like ECX ect.

Thank you.

Philip Lane

Hi Mike.

Yes, all of the above....but I do not know what ECX is.

To be frank, I am not looking to go down the SmarTeam or Enovia routes. I never liked SmarTeam as an engineernig solution, and Enovia is a lock-in as far as I understand.