8 Replies Latest reply on May 22, 2018 4:47 PM by Hakan Bi̇rcan

Looping through drawing BOM to get all assemblies

Tommy Alatalo

I need to loop through all levels of a drawing BOM from top level down and find all assembly drawings associated.

The goal of this is to find all assembly drawings (and possibly export them as pdfs) associated to the product in the top drawing.

So what I'm looking at is a regular BOM/Assembly structure:

Top level drawing

--> Part

--> Part

--> Part

--> Assembly (Drawing level 2)

--> Part

--> Subassembly1 (Drawing level 3)

--> Part

--> Subassembly 2 (Drawing level 4)

--> Part

One way to find all the assemblies I guess would be to add an indented BOM into the drawing, getting the assemblies from it and then deleting it, but I would prefer to use the existing BOM table, and loop through it if possible so that I don't run a risk of getting the wrong BOM data in case the original top level BOM has been edited manually.

I have limited experience with VBA with most of it is coming from Excel, so any pointers or code examples as to approach this is much appreciated.

• Re: Looping through drawing BOM to get all assemblies
          Raghvendra Bhargava

Hi Tommy,

Why do you need to get through the BOM to get assembly?

You can select the view and get all assembly and component.

try this:

Dim swApp As SldWorks.SldWorks

Dim Part As ModelDoc2

Dim swDrw As DrawingDoc

Dim boolstatus As Boolean

Dim longstatus As Long, longwarnings As Long

Sub main()

Set swApp = Application.SldWorks

Set Part = swApp.ActiveDoc

Set swDrw = Part

boolstatus = Part.ActivateView("Drawing View1")

boolstatus = Part.Extension.SelectByID2("Drawing View1", "DRAWINGVIEW", 0.54146, 0.54953, 0, False, 0, Nothing, 0)

Dim swView As View

Set swView = swDrw.ActiveDrawingView

Dim Model As ModelDoc2

Set Model = swView.ReferencedDocument

If Model.GetType = 2 Then

Dim swAsm As AssemblyDoc

Set swAsm = Model

Dim varModel As Variant