0 Replies Latest reply on Feb 15, 2017 11:20 AM by Jim Sculley

SOLIDWORKS Crash Using CloseAndReopen in Conjunction with EPDM

Jim Sculley

I have been fighting a problem for several months with SOLIDWORKS and EPDM.  I have a fairly complex custom add-in that worked for several years with few problems.  I was making changes to improve the experience for my users and this involved using the ISldWorks::CloseAndReopen API call.  During testing I discovered that I can consistently cause a complete crash of SOLIDWORKS (see attached dump file) and I am fairly certain that the problem lies with SOLIDWORKS and not my code.  I have whittled my add-in down to a mere 223 lines of code that demonstrate the problem.  I have attached the Visual Studio project, some test files and an export of the relevant data from my test vault.

The add-in is fairly simple.  It watches for files entering a particular state.  When a file enters the state, the add-in checks to see if any open drawings are referencing the file.  If so, the ISldWorks::CloseAndReopen method is called.  Between the closing and reopening of the drawing file, the add-in will check out the part file, set a data card variable and then check the file back in.

In my vault (which is named _DEVELOPMENT), the folder structure looks like this:

_DEVELOPMENT

+--Admin

+--EPDMCrash

The file data card EPDMCrashTestCard should be placed in the EPDMCrash folder.  The three test files (foo.sldprt, bar.sldprt and foo.slddrw) should be placed in the EPDMCrash directory and when checked in they should be added to the EPDMCrash workflow.  The add-in can be added either directly from the CEX file or the attached Visual Studio project can be compiled and added to the vault via the Administration tool.

To reproduce the crash, proceed as follows:

1.     Start SOLIDWORKS

2.    Open bar.sldprt

3.    Open foo.slddrw

4.    From the EPDM tab of the task pane, initiate a state change on foo.sldprt.  The transition name is Start