11 Replies Latest reply on Feb 17, 2017 9:39 AM by Amit Katz

Pump flow simulation

Safet Seta

Hello,

I'm a mechanical engineering student and currently I'm working on my final project.

For it I need to simulate the impact of different fluids on the pump, needed power

for a given flow rate and RPM. I'm all new to this simulation thing, all the experiance

I have is from the YouTube tutorials. So far I know how to set the boundary conditions,

rotating regions. The problem starts here: When I put the BC's as enviromental pressure

at inlet and outlet followed by a rotating region at 3000RPM I get a ''vortex crosses the..''

warning message that I can't get rid of. I tried to extend the inlet and outlet pipe but to

no avail and even refined the mesh. When inspecting the surface parameters of inlet and outlet

lid for mass flow rate I get a different reading but in the report mass flow rate is listed as their subtraction

(i.e. m.flow and inlet lid: 3.9205kg/s, outlet lid: -4.2329 kg/s(is the ''-'' a sight it's going out of the system?)

and mass flow rate in report: 0.3123 kg/s) I'd wish to know how to avoid that message

and how to correctly set up my boundary conditions.

For my project the more important thing...

When I set up an inlet mass/volume flow rate followed by an atmospheric pressure at the outlet

I again get a different reading of the inlet/outlet surface mass flow rate reading, but this

time without the warning during the calculation. I would like to know the best way to set the

parameters for my pump, I want to know how to set the volume flow rate that the pump provides

and not the flow rate of the fluid at the inlet pipe(or it's the same thing) and how does the

option relative to rotating frame and absolute impact the results.

The parameters I want to use for my analysis are:

Pump flow rate: 100 m^3/h

Angular velocity: 2500RPM

Goals:

1.Inspect the distribution of velocities/pressure/torque