14 Replies Latest reply on Jan 23, 2017 4:22 PM by Paul Salvador

Converting An Imported DXF To 3D

Richard Chow

I have imported a DXF of different views of a 3D part.  A couple of these DXF views are the sections of this part.  My question is, how do I reposition these imported curves to the correct orientation and in the correct position?  I don't see a move or a reposition or a re-orientation function.  I am kind of new to SolidWorks, so maybe there is an easier way of doing this, than import the DXF and manipulating the 2-D geometry.  What's your suggestion for me to do this correctly, with minimal time?

• Re: Converting An Imported DXF To 3D
          Jim Steinmeyer

My best guess, not having attempted to use 3D PDFs, would be to position the part in each of the traditional 3 basic positions. Front, side and top. Then, I suspect, when you import the PDF it will come in as three 2D drawings. From there you would have to open a new sketch and convert the edges of the part into that sketch. Following this you can do the same with the other two views on the appropriate planes. Now you have three sketches that may or may-not allow you to guess the depth to extrude the sketches to.

You see 2D sketches do not have the necessary information to fully determine a 3D part. Your best bet is to use the measure tool in 3D PDFs to gather the information to model the part from the ground up all in Solid Works. You will gain valuable experience and have a much more correct model when you are finished.

Chad Huleatt

Why wouldn't you open the DXF in SW using import wizard, and then copy the sketches to front, right and top planes in SW? Then you could use extrudes/ cuts to model the part.

I often have to work from DXF's, and I find it's often easier to leave the imported geometry in reference sketches, then covert the entities I need into additional sketches that I use to create features.