67 Replies Latest reply on Jan 12, 2017 6:29 AM by Peter Van De Bogert

GDT QUESTION

Scott Cole

I am updating an old drawing. how would I apply gdt for the holes they want to be .060 tir

• Re: GDT QUESTION
          Christian Chu

Pick one hole for datum and apply GDT to the other, similar as the one below (for total run out)

Christopher Estelow

Exactly what Christian said.  I would also consider changing that bolt circle from a radius to a diameter as well but that could just be my preference.

Chris

S. Casale

The PDF presented does not indicate there are two holes as there is no depth call-out. The assumption when design checking that this 2X is an error. However. 2X or not:

Where are the

1. Need at least one datum
                • Better if you have two trying to accomplish what is desired.

Matt Wallace

I am far from an expert, and I am surprised someone more knowledgeable than me hasn't said something.  My understanding is Concentricity is difficult to inspect and rarely called for, unless you have a really good reason to control median points.  The symbols that folks have been adding are for total runout, which is different from runout and concentricity.  My guess is that none of these would be appropriate for a sheet metal part.  Position is the callout you will want.

Scott, your aren't being helped by the initial drawing.  You are going to have to do some reverse engineering and figure out what this part is supposed to do.

Jim Steinmeyer