4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 15, 2017 7:45 AM by Tero Lahteenmaki

Drawing circle and centering it by the object

Tero Lahteenmaki

Hi

I'm a beginner with the Solidworks, asking for advice.

In the picture, I need to draw a circle inside in the middle of the object,

198mm from the bottom.

Ok, I have done this now as follows;

Drew a box inside this object and crossed lines inside the box.

I'm not happy with that so I need to get it done more properly as I know there is a way. I just dont know how.

The circle should be with diameter of 9mm and it should be static even if the height of the object changes.

As is it should stay centered dependless of the object moves/changes.

Thanks

Tero

• Re: Drawing circle and centering it by the object
          Bill Toft

My first bit of advice is to make sure your sketches are always fully defined, That means all sketch lines are black (blue lines can be moved). The best way to do that is to have one of your sketch lines (midpoint or end point) coincident with the origin.

As to locating your circle, start by drawing a vertical construction line (from the bottom) and dimension it 198mm. Then draw your 9mm circle centered on the end of the line. Now you need to locate it horizontally. You want it centered, so draw another construction line that connects the 2 outside lines and is also perpendicular to the two. Now mate the end of the vertical construction line to the mid-point of the second construction line.

That should do it.

Solid Air

Hopefully Bill's post answers your question, if not then please post picture of where you want circle to be because I am not understanding what you want to do.

Paul Risley

I think I got the general idea of what you are asking and what the final result would be.Capture.JPG