27 Replies Latest reply on Jan 3, 2017 8:35 AM by Rick Becker

Draw new part in assembly solidworks 2017?

Justin Reed

How do I draw a new part within a assembly? I prefer to do it this way rather then draw it outside of an assembly. Thanks!

• Re: Draw new part in assembly solidworks 2017?
          JOHN GEORGE

When you are in assembly, you can insert new part as shown below

A new part in added into the assembly

Now you can edit this part in assembly context.

Solid Air

Does John's post answer your question or are you asking about virtual parts?

Justin Reed

I am new to Solidworks been using an ancient software called CadKey. Not sure what a virtual part is. I will look that up and see if it is a more viable option to what I am trying to do. Thanks for the response. Also if you kbnow of a great place to learn designing techniques that would be a great help. I can only seem to find info on how to make a part and assembly. Not anything involving them together.

Solid Air

If you are new to SolidWorks, I do not recommend trying to do in-context/top down design right away.  I would do as John suggests and work through the tutorials and examples here first.

Glenn Schroeder

Justin Reed wrote:

Not sure what a virtual part is.

A virtual Part is just a Part that exists only inside the Assembly, and not as a separate Part file.

Solid Air

Glenn,

That is only true when the assembly is closed.  When the assembly is open,  SolidWorks creates a separate part file in a VC (virtual component) folder.

Solid Air

Here is what you see when you do a File>Find References...

It looks like the file is saved internally.  However, open SolidWorks Rx to find the location of your Windows temp folder.

Browse out to that folder and do a search for VC; it will be in one of the many swx folders found there.  And when you look inside you will find the virtual file.

Dave Bear

Hi Glenn,