19 Replies Latest reply on May 15, 2018 4:47 PM by James Harvey

piston travel distance issue

Riley Chrisman

Having an issue trying to figure out how to keep a piston from traveling too far from the base. Have a concentric mate with the piston guide, mate from the guide to the top of the piston with the max distance set, and a linear coupler from the piston top to the set screw that pushes it down. What am I doing wrong?Capture.PNG

It will let follow the set screw down and up but wont let me rotate to the other side ( any further than the piston is allowed to go up).

Very new, self taught, so sorry if this is super simple, thank you.

• Re: piston travel distance issue
          Dan Pihlaja

Can you share the assembly? (hint: use pack and go to create a zip file)

Dave Bear

Hi Riley,

I have had a look at your assembly and I think that this could be quite easily solved, but firstly I'm curious about a few things. Why are your top set screws not aligned (concentric) with your pistons? Not that they have to be of course, I just thought it was odd!

Also I noted that the two top set screws are not symmetrical in their spacing from the centre, evidence of this is the obvious fact that in the real world you would not be able to turn the far locking nut as it already collides with the top housing. I do not mean to sound critical, I am a beginner also and self-taught, I just thought I'd point these out to you.

Dave.

John Stoltzfus

Distant mates work if you set the minimum and maximum values from points, surfaces or planes, however if you mate using spherical bodies or faces, they could jump across the center line.

Riley Chrisman