Andreas Olofsson

Visualize 2017 has given me nothing but problems

Discussion created by Andreas Olofsson on Dec 16, 2016
Latest reply on Dec 19, 2016 by Scott Ellery

Alright, so I've been waiting a while for our license server to be updated so that I could upgrade Visualize from 2016 SP0 to 2017. I had updated once before to 2016 SP1 but had to downgrade back because the update changed my HDR lighting drastically from how it looked back in SP0.

Now that I'm finally able to update to 2017 I am very dissatisfied to learn that my HDR issue still hasn't been fixed. My VAR won't update me on the status of the issue. Seems like it's been totally abandoned since the SR's status says "closed". I've spent a lot of time setting up all of my 50+ projects so that the lighting looks good, from all angles. Now it looks like crap. Spent a couple of hours trying to make a new HDR but I can't get anywhere close to how well it looked before.

Great.

 

I render a lot of turntables, which need to consist of 48 frames. 2017 offers me the option of either 47 or 50 frames. Isn't that neat. Terrific.

 

And last but not least; Visualize cannot handle the apparent complexity of my motion studies. That was the biggest reason for me to upgrade. It freezes for at least 10 seconds in between every single mouse click, even in preview mode. The already tedious task of applying appearances to every part just got even more cumbersome.

 

Looks like I've got no choice but to downgrade again. Lovely. Pardon the sarcastic tone but I am properly pissed... Better luck with SP2!

 

PS: I had a hunch that it would be a bad idea to have "create movie" be enabled by default. And it turned out I would be right to be concerned. It cannot be disabled if there are render passes enabled. And you can't disable the render passes if create movie is enabled. Paradoxical...

The reason the render passes are ticked is because those were my output settings for the last session. Create movie was not ticked then. But because Visualize assumes that everyone wants that option enabled it goes ahead and ticks it for us no matter what it was set to the last session.

I never, ever want to have that option enabled. I assemble all of my frames in After Effects, along with their render passes.

 

 

PPS: When opening my default project that I use to import all of models into, it crashes Visualize. That's also new in 2017!

Outcomes