9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 5, 2009 12:32 PM by Anna Wood

Magnifying glass is broken

I'm still new to Solidworks 2009 (just finally got it installed yesterday and the Liscense Manager working today). I was really excited about the magnifying glass option, but when I tried it out (by hitting the "G" key), I only got a circle on the screen that I could move around with my mouse. I wasn't zoomed in and wouldn't zoom in or out when I scrolled my mouse wheel. Anything I'm not doing right or something else I should know about?
        • Magnifying glass is broken
          John Sweeney
          Hi Glenn,

A couple other users have mentioned issues with the magnifying glass too. We were able to reproduce their issues by using old graphics card drivers. Using more recent graphics drivers fixed the issue in our testing.

I would recommend checking your graphics driver version and comparing it with the list of supported drivers found on our website at:

http://www.solidworks.com/sw/s...videocardtesting.html

If a driver upgrade doesn't fix your magnifying glass issues, please let us know.

Thanks,
          John
              I updated my ATI FireGL v7100 video card to the latest and greatest driver and that solved the problem with the magnifying glass. Thank you very much.
                  Jeffrey Smith
                  I, too had an issue with the mag glass.

I've got the ATI FireGL v7200 card. Downloading and installing the new driver fixed the problem...I think
                      Mark Kaiser
                      It's really too bad you have to have an $ approved card to use new tools sometimes... Some of us regular guys just can't justify that. Look at my system specs, integrated video card, it doesn't support OpenGL, therefore I can't use the magnifying glass. There's no way management here is going to spend $ just to turn on a nifty selection tool.

Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.
                          Matt Lombard