17 Replies Latest reply on Nov 15, 2016 2:31 PM by Michael Henderson

Ground Effect Simulation Values Way off

Michael Henderson

Hi

I'm currently attempting to validate a CFD set up with a NACA 0012 by comparing it with the data from the following paper

http://eprints.soton.ac.uk/51083/1/51083.pdf

Unfortunately my initial values that I'm getting at 0deg AoA and 0.3 h/c clearance are incomparable to the data from the paper. I'm relatively new to CFD so I'm not sure if my set up fully correct or my mesh may need further refinement, although it's approximately 900,000 currently. I've attached images of my following set up to summarise, I've used:

-Surface Goals X & Y for Lift and Drag on aerofoil surface and end of wing

-Comp Domain splits through aerofoil, therefore force has been multiplied by 2

-Ground is real wall with velocity = air flow

-Aerofoil surface is treat as real wall

Values obtained for 0deg 0.3h/c, Cl = -0.03, Cd = 0.01

Values trying to obtain Cl = -0.1, Cd = 0.0075

Capture.PNG

Any feedback will be appreciated

Thanks!

• Re: Ground Effect Simulation Values Way off
          Gian Flavio Violi

Michael,

Best advice I can give you right now is to do MAX local mesh refinement in everypart of the airfoil and floor. If you can upload the model so I can actually have a look at the set-up I may be able to give you some extra pointers as I've worked with CFD airfoils validations before.

One thing to note though. SW FlowSim uses k-epsilon turbulence model, which isn't recommended for airfoils charaterization since you can simulate the effect of boundary layer detachment (flow separation, airfoil stall/stagnation) at all. But when the angle of attack is 0 degrees you shouldn't be facing major issues, FlowSim limitations are shown when you exceed the maximum angle of attack limit.

Let me know how I can help you further.

Regards,

GF

Bill McEachern

GF,