9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 10, 2016 10:21 AM by Gustav Carlberg

Converting sketch patterns to drawing

Gustav Carlberg

Hello!

I work in a field where a lot of features are represented by various symbols and patterns, and i have found that the best way to handle this is to simply draw most of these things as sketches. Up until recently i drew most things directly onto the veiws in the drawing, but it was hard to manage since these sketeches can get quite big with a lot of relations and dimensions. Instead i started drawing them as sketches in the 3d model and used the convert entities feature to place them in the right layers.

This works much better exept when it comes to patterns. The models i make are highly parametric and the pattern in the drawing doesn't change when i control the number of pattern instances.

Is there a work around for this issue?

Im not afraid of working with the API if that is necessary.

• Re: Converting sketch patterns to drawing
          Bjorn Hulman

Hi Gustav,

Its difficult to visualise what you are trying to achieve. However, converting your complex sketch into a block may be a good solution. Once you create a block you can save it. Saving it to your design library will make it easily accessible in the design library toolbar on the right of the interface where you can drag in when you need it.  and simply drop it into parts and drawings. No matter how complex, the block will act as a single entity and will easily pattern.

Gustav Carlberg

Thank you for the reply Björn!

I'm sorry if i failed to describe the issue clearly. I think the issue is quite specific to the particular field i work in and my particular method.

The issue isn't really about making a pattern out of a complex sketch, it's rather about getting sketches with patterns, made in the 3D model, to correcly end up in certain layers on a 2D drawing.

John Stoltzfus