26 Replies Latest reply on Nov 8, 2016 3:56 PM by James Riddell

Can I get a job with no additional training?

Kimberley Moore

Hello all. I have a degree in game design and simulation, but I live in an area where game design is not a big industry, and I don't have the means to move. So I thought I would learn SolidWorks as a way to earn some money, but now I'm concerned that I won't actually get a job, since I don't have any architectural or engineering training. I've been told by some people that it's possible to find jobs that don't require that kind of knowledge, but through the searching I've done so far, I haven't found any. So would I just be wasting my time learning SolidWorks?

• Re: Can I get a job with no additional training?
          Chris Saller

What exactly would you use it for? Do you have any engineering/design experience?

It will not hurt to learn it. It's always good to expand and learn more software. There are some colleges that have courses like 3D printing and/or SolidWorks. SolidWorks does have a Simulation addin, you can expand into using it.

If you want to do some online jobs using SW, learn it the best you can, use the tutorials. Also, you can sign up for SolidWorks World (here in Los Angeles in Feb '17) and learn more.

Kimberley Moore

I would use it simply to get a job that would pay a little better than the part time, minimum wage job that I currently have. I don't have any engineering experience, but I have 3D modeling experience. I know how to use 3DS Max, and I was thinking that since SolidWorks is also 3D, and that you can export SolidWorks files into 3DS Max, I thought it might help me get a job as a 3D Modeler. Even if it doesn't, I was hoping that it would help me get a job while I continue working on my game design portfolio.

Derek Parks

Kimberley,