8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2017 12:51 PM by Analisa Roland

I want to Faro scan organic objects into Solidworks

Patrick McNeely

I'm a student who is new to the CAD world, and I'm trying to create an orthotic leg brace, but first I need a model of my leg in Solidworks. I used a Faro scanner to capture a point cloud, I used Geomagic Design X to create a smoothed polygonal mesh from the points,  and now I'm stuck. I can't get the mesh or cloud into Solidworks, I am finding it impossible to create a tree from something so organic using the geometric patters available.  I still have a (.xlr) file, which is just a spreadsheet with all 2.2 million XYZ coordinates.

I am just interested in importing the scan data into Solidworks, whatever the approach may be, so you have some insight that takes me to a new direction. I'm open.

I'm a quadriplegic, I really need this to work, so here's your big chance to help someone who really needs it.

• Re: I want to Faro scan organic objects into Solidworks
          Thomas Voetmann

I know it is not much help, but you might want to look at the SolidWorks add-in "Scan To 3D" available in Professional edition.

It is supposed to be able to convert point clouds to 3D. I have never used it myself so I can not tell you how efficient it is. But I do suspect that you should try to divide your point cloud to get more manageable files.

Alan Thomason

Thomas is correct that SolidWorks can import point clouds.  I use point clouds of scanned cast/machined objects of round 3million points, so it should be possible.  The format I work with is .xyz files in an ASCII format.  I believe they are space delimited.  So, you need to export the files into one of the options for point cloud import.  I think these are only available when you have Scanto3D enabled as an Add-In, and I think that is only available as a Premium subscriber.

There are several problems with Scanto3D.