26 Replies Latest reply on Sep 14, 2018 7:07 AM by Wayne Falco

What's better, Solidworks or Creo?

Steve Calvert

OK, I'm being ask to come up with some comparisons with the two.  Anybody have a good idea where I can find a latest this vs that .pdf?

TIA

Steve C

• Re: What's better, Solidworks or Creo?
          Chris Saller

Everyone will have his/her own opinion.

Here in the SolidWorks forum, my guess the majority will say SolidWorks is better.

A quick Google search turned up this:

http://cad.softwareinsider.com/

Frank Defilippi

I agree with Chris,

However the biggest difference is SWX is a bit more intuitive to learn with Inventor or SolidEdge experience.   Creo is somewhat different and will require 2 weeks training with a  3 -6 month learning curve.

Chris B.

Depends what you want to use it for.  What industry are you in?

I've been using SWX for 10 years now, Pro/E (before it became Creo) for four years before that for plastic part design.

Pro/E has maybe steeper learning curve somewhat, but seemed to be capable of higher quality surfacing, meaning better looking parts using complex surfacing.  More powerful surfacing capabilities.

Cost.  I believe SolidWorks is significantly lower cost.  Was back then anyway, maybe that's still the case?

Drawings may be easier to create in SolidWorks.  They were many years ago at least.  Can a recent Creo user confirm that?

Frank Defilippi

Hey Chris-

"Drawings may be easier to create in SolidWorks.  They were many years ago at least.  Can a recent Creo user confirm that?"