AnsweredAssumed Answered

Any suggestions how to establish a digital inventory for equipment and a digital library of customer projects?

Question asked by Wojciech Limanowka on Sep 27, 2016
Latest reply on Sep 28, 2016 by Tim Pulaski

Introduction: Hello everyone, my name is Jake and I am a junior electrical engineer who is currently tasked with setting up a digital library/inventory for a new start-up company. I have been learning to use Solidworks Electrical over the past year.

Quick Summary: Can anyone advise on how best to set up a digital inventory of company equipment and a digital library of customer projects within Solidworks Electrical so that the process is relatively straight forward (requiring as little manual input and alterations as possible). It should be possible to copy drawings/circuits/components from the inventory and place them into specific customer projects, where upon the copied material can be specially tailored for that particular project if need be. Each inventory/library should track its own revisions. The main problem I face is that Solidworks Electrical seems to be designed more for consulting/contract work, where projects don't have much overlap and where the company doesn't have its own line of equipment that they develop, revise, assembly, store and/or use regularly.