9 Replies Latest reply on Oct 11, 2016 1:27 PM by Shaun Densberger

Really, REALLY weird stresses in a study

Daan Haeyen

Hi all,

I'm running a study on a shaft and crank, connected by a sunk key. Here is how the model is fixed and the load is applied. All connections are set to "no penetration". There are no parts colliding.

simu1.jpg

After running the simulation, this is the displacement of the key, on true scale. Weird, I would think it would rotate more because of the modeled clearance.

simu3.jpg

Automatic scale displacement shows the key is indeed rotating as is expected:

simu2.jpg

BUT stress plots shows maximum stress in a place on the shaft that isn't even touching the key.

simu4.jpg

I'm a teacher in Mechanical Engineering and know quite a bit about Solidworks, and I have colleagues who know Simulation better, but we are all flabbergasted by this result. I would be really thankful if someone can come up with a good explanation for this.

I have attached the complete model to this post.

Thanks, Daan

• Re: Really, REALLY weird stresses in a study
          Bill McEachern

I would make it size on size and then run it with surface to surface contact. If you really want the slop then use SWX and the move tool with advanced dynamics and get it as close to the likely initial contact state as you can  - like touching everywhere that counts and try that. Edge contact is not well handled by SWX so tif that is the case it could be quite difficult. This a very tricky analysis even if you think it is easy. ABAQUS would have trouble. then again i have seen this code do so really killer things with tricky contact that a lot of other codes would struggle with in the static study. the other things is that maybe you don't have any deformation - like actual scale - set.

Daan Haeyen

Hi, thanks. I made them size on size, but still get stresses in illogical places... How can this be?

simu5.jpg

James Riddell