9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 16, 2016 11:13 PM by John Kecsmar

Long shot - cosmos/M issues

John Kecsmar

I have been using Cosmos/M for almost 25 years - still can't give it up. It works great. More robust than the 'light' version embedded in SW.

Anyway, this is a long shot. For some reason since today whenever i create a new model in cosmos and try to check the model or even run it, it disappears and closes down. I open up an old file....perform the same, no problems, it works. It seems on new models that i create are having this issue.

So, I monitored the new files it creates and I notice 2 files suddenly being created as it does this 'melt' down.

One called X and is windows batch file and then the other GeoBat1.bat which is also listed as a windows batch file. I have never ever seen these in the 25 years of using Cosmos/M. It appears what ever is going on is related to these files and the creation of them.

What is going on and why?..and more importantly..how can I stop it so I can run my models again?

I do realise there is probably no one out there that can assist as it is an old XP format program pre SW too...but hey, i'll give it a short

• Re: Long shot - cosmos/M issues
          Julien Boissat

Hi,

Can you please have a look at Solution Id: S-019420 to see if it applies to your case?

Julien

John Kecsmar

Hi Julien

Many thanks for the reply (I know it is a long shot!). Where can I find the solution: S-019420?

Do you happen to have a link to it?

This is my first time using this website/forum, hence unsure how/where to look for this.

John

Julien Boissat

Hi John,

1. Log in the Customer Portal (https://customerportal.solidworks.com/ )
                  2. Click Knowledge Base
                  3. Type S-019420 and hit the Search button
                  4. There should be only one search result. Click on it.
                  5. Review the pdf in attachment of that Solution.

Julien

John Kecsmar

Hi Julien