8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 8, 2016 5:44 PM by Doug Seibel

Import STEP, IGES and ACIS drawings convert from Rhinoceros

Wilma Daemen

Hi,   I am a product designer working in Rhinoceros Version 5 SR11 64-bit.  My colleague in China is working with Solidworks 2014.   I have converted the Rhinoceros drawings into STEP (AP214 Automotive design) or IGES (default or solidworks surfaces or solidworks solids) or ACIS (solidworks) but I get always the same answer: he can open the drawings but not edit them. And the drawings he receives (STEP,IGES or ACIS) are “flat” in 2D but I only send him 3D parts and assemblies.   Am I doing something wrong or should he open the drawings in a special way. What else can I recommend them to do.

• Re: Import STEP, IGES and ACIS drawings convert from Rhinoceros
          Chris Dordoni

It sounds like your colleague is looking for a model with the parametric history that created the part. When he says "flat" he might be referring to the the lack of the parametric relations. And he can't "edit" the part if there is no parametric history.

Unfortunately you won't be able to give him a parametric model from Rhino if that is what he wants. You should could clarify this with him.

FYI, Parametric construction history is specific to the application, and common file formats like STEP, IGES, ASIS do not contain that history. So in general, if someone wants a parametric model in SolidWorks, it has to be built in SolidWorks.

Jim Steinmeyer

It has been 5 years since I worked with Rhino files so this could be wrong but, As I recall I imported the Rhino files in STP or IGES and they came in as surfaces. I then had to learn and use surfacing to create new surfaces, create parting lines for separate parts, and then thicken the surfaces into solids. Not much fun when you have never worked with surfaces but it will give him a chance to broaden his skills.

Also be sure to coordinate weather they thicken in or out as this can make a big difference.