17 Replies Latest reply on Nov 10, 2009 6:47 PM by Ryan Laplante

Why is 3D sketching so hard !?!?!!?

Why is 3D sketching so hard and why can't I get SolidWorks to do what my brain says it should do? This is supposed to be 3D solid modeling and I want to design as my brain envisions it in 3D. I just seem to so much time on sketching. Is there a good tutorial for just 3D sketching that anyone could recommend? I realize I'm a newbie to SoldWorks but 3D sketching just should not be this hard.

Thank you,

Chris

• Why is 3D sketching so hard !?!?!!?
          Dale Dunn
          I don't know of any tutorials other than what comes with the software. Is there a specific issue you need a nudge on?

Different people have different results with 3DSketch. I do somewhere between OK and well with it, but it took me a while to get the hang of it.

Dale Dunn wrote:

I don't know of any tutorials other than what comes with the software. Is there a specific issue you need a nudge on?

Different people have different results with 3DSketch. I do somewhere between OK and well with it, but it took me a while to get the hang of it.

Dale,

Take a look at this part. Open the 3D sketch that is under the extruded surface labeled "Pull Tab". Can you show me how to fully constrain the sketch and use dimensions so I can adjust the size of sketch later if required?

Thank you!

Chris

Dale Dunn

Chris Maiden wrote:

Dale Dunn wrote:

Dale,

Take a look at this part. Open the 3D sketch that is under the extruded surface labeled "Pull Tab". Can you show me how to fully constrain the sketch and use dimensions so I can adjust the size of sketch later if required?

Thank you!

Chris

Sorry, I'm stuck on 2007. Maybe someone else can jump in and take a look. Maybe I can describe it verbally or reproduce it if you post a screen shot.
                Tom Nicholson