3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 29, 2016 10:32 AM by Timothy Taby

SW 2016 - Gaming laptop or MS SB/SP4?

Mike Maciazka

Alright, I found a thread from earlier this year that was talking about using Surface Pro 4 for SW.  I'm intrigued by it, but I have a few questions.

I'll start with my background.  I'm a machinist and graduated this past spring from PMT (Precision Manufacturing Technology).  We had a 3D CAD class that utilized SW 2015...we were given student versions for at home.  I built a PC to run that at home.  And I will use that the next two years as well, but I want something portable.]]

I should mention the reason I want portable is that my PC is in my office...away from everything and everyone.  I would like to be able to use SW while on the couch or sitting somewhere else where my girlfriend and/or son are...to be able to work on things while still spending time with them.

My home PC has the following:
      MicroATX form factorIntel Pentium G3258 Dual-Core CPU (OC'd to 4.2GHz)

16GB RAM (DDR3-1600)

Quadro K620 GPU

128GB SSD for OS

250GB SSD for storage

500W PS

Win 7 Pro

I plan to upgrade the PS to 700W+ and the RAM to 32GB.  I might also go to either an i5-4690k or i7-4790k.

This computer works pretty well for the basic stuff I've done in SW so far...the only problem with it is that I can't multitask...when I try to do browsing or stream music while working on models, it slows down a bit.  I built it with the G3258 knowing that SW relies on only a single core, but I think upgrading to a quad-core CPU might help in other areas outside of SW.

I work full-time and go to school full-time.  My budget is limited to about $2000.  I'd rather keep it below that if possible, but I'll give you a rundown of what I was looking at.

Originally I was looking at gaming PC's with the following specs:

15-17" display FHD

i7-6700HQ CPU (or higher)

16+ GB RAM

GeForce GTX 960m (or higher)

SSD or SSD/HDD combo