3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2016 2:44 PM by Keith Rice

Change custom property on referenced drawings

Luke Frost

Good Afternoon All,

Being a complete API novice I have been looking for a macro that will go through an assembly and change specific custom properties for the sub assemblies and haven't managed to find anything at all that is related.  I have however managed to put something together based on several different things that i have found which isn't completely air tight however it seems to run ok even if some times it does delete the variables ad not create them if the instances are met initially.  Haven't been able to figure out how to achieve this.

The thing however that i am struggling with it is to change custom properties on referenced drawings that are for either the top level assembly or any of the drawings for the parts that are in the assembly.

The current code is as follows:

Option Explicit

Dim swApp As SldWorks.SldWorks

Sub main()

Dim swModel As ModelDoc2

Dim vComps As Variant

Dim swComp As SldWorks.Component2

Dim swAssy As SldWorks.AssemblyDoc

Dim i As Integer

Set swApp = Application.SldWorks

Set swModel = swApp.ActiveDoc

Dim strDesToReplace As String

Dim strDesReplacing As String

Dim strNoToReplace As String

Dim strNoReplacing As String

strDesToReplace = InputBox("Please enter the text that you wish to find within the Description Custom Property", "Enter Search String")

strDesReplacing = InputBox("Please enter the text that you wish to replace the previously entered string in the Description Custom Property", "Enter Replacing String")

strNoToReplace = InputBox("Please enter the text that you wish to find within the Part Number Custom Property", "Enter Search String")

strNoReplacing = InputBox("Please enter the text that you wish to replace the previously entered string in the Part Number Custom Property", "Enter Replacing String")