3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 12, 2016 1:58 PM by Kristopher Hop

Non PDM revision managment

Kristopher Hop

I know this probably isn't in the right section, but I'm in dire need of some help. So I've been assigned with two drawing libraries to organize. The first is the library containing the production prints drawn up in Solidworks which we have recently purchased PDM. The other library is the output library that is on the shared drive which consists of .dxf's, and .pdf's mainly for purchasing to use to send out prints to vendors. It's not an overly complicated library, and I'm new to doing this, but I was wondering if you guys, and gals, had some simple revision control ideas that I could present to the top men.  I know some might say to use PDM, but as of right now I'm the only one using solidworks, and pdm, and the money for all the extra seats isn't available right now.

• Re: Non PDM revision managment
          Stephen Lapic

I'm not sure if I totally understand but it sounds like you want to create a revision system without using the pdm.  The system will have two libraries - one for production prints and the other for copies to be sent out (pdfs).  And you can't use the pdm - just saying that again since that is the logical thing to do.  So you need a whole new process or what are you looking for?  Just how big is your department?  Specifically wondering how many people actually will make and release drawings?