10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 8, 2016 11:55 AM by Damien Long

Spiral cut tube

Damien Long

I'm relatively new to SolidWorks, and was hoping someone could help me with a part I'm trying to model.  It's a long tube with a repeating pattern of cut and uncut sections along a helical/spiral path per JPEG attached.  For example the cut-section might be 45% of a rotation, then an uncut section of 10% of a rotation, and the pattern repeating and repeating. 

Part.JPG

I've spent a lot of time at this with no luck and am tearing my hair out.  The closest I got was to wrap a sketch to get the first cut, then using "curved pattern" to get this first cut to repeat along a spiral path.  This worked up to about 100 instances, but any more than that and SW just hung on me, wouldn't solve (see sldprt attached).  Wondering if anyone has any ideas how to do this efficiently, as SW seems to really struggle with the approach I've tried.  Thanks.

• Re: Spiral cut tube
          John Stoltzfus

This is what I did in the past....

Make a sheet metal split tube and un-fold it and draw your slits and then re-fold

Damien Long

Thanks John S.  Cosmetically this look great, but it leaves a split line along the length of the tube.  I want to use an IGES of the part to laser-cut this pattern into a tube, but part won't function if there's a full-length split line on the tube.  Even if the split is very thin in the solid model, the laser will still try to cut it.  I suppose I could extrude back through the gap, but then some of the slots would be in two parts.  Not ideal, but unless someone knows a better way, I guess I'll have to make this work.  Thanks.

John Stoltzfus

I would set it up in two configurations, one the part development and the other the laser cutting operation.  It is a little more work that way but you'll have good control of the part.