4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 22, 2016 8:01 PM by Babak Shei

Production Launch - No existing infrastructure

Mark Pinto

Hello all,

I am a newly graduated mechanical engineer working for a small solar installation company. Right now we focus mostly on system installation but my boss is interested in expanding to manufacture some of our own products. He has some experience in manufacturing but not in engineering. Thus it will fall to me to develop the science behind our products.

Naturally I've taken some courses which discuss some of the methodology behind this but really there is no substitute for experience (which I lack).

My question to this forum is: How would you get started if you had to build a product from scratch? Where should I be spending my time?

• Re: Production Launch - No existing infrastructure
          John Pagel

Hey Mark,

A few things to consider, some of which may not apply to your situation but since I'm not sure where you're company is starting from I'll try to start from the beginning.  I'm an Mechanical Engineer and this is the way I see it, but hopefully a Process or Manufacturing Engineer can chime in here as this is the kind of stuff that they specialize in.  And if you get advice from one of those, take it to heart because they know what they are talking about.

1. Money (and time)
            • Make sure your boss understands that this will be an investment.  It will take a lot of money to get a product from being on paper to being complete.  This is why finding investors is a huge part of this (unless he already has the cash).  The other huge cost will be for your time.  Make sure he realizes that development time is not only important, but CRITICAL, and that it always takes longer than you think it will.  In fact, even when you think you are figuring for a worst case scenario timeline, you are still underestimating the amount of time required.
          2. Manufacturing capabilities