3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 23, 2008 9:37 PM by Bill McEachern

Data Management

Chase Caruth
      I'm still learning all the tricks to Floworks. I get rather annoyed that when I make runs, the results are all automatically named 1, 2, 3, etc. Is there a way to have Solidworks give those files an actual name? I don't want to have to open the file just to find out what my configuration was. I'd like to make descriptive filenames.

Also, while messing around with things, I created several unnecesary configurations. How do I delete those? I've tried to open them and select 'Clear Configuration,' but it didn't work.

Last question. Is there a way to simply open a configuration without opening its model? For example, my test assembly is saved with the 5 deg AOA configuration open. However, if I want to view the 15 deg AOA case, I have to open the 5 deg case in Floworks first, then I can open the 15 deg case.

Some of these may just be pains that come with SW. Any help would be great.
        • Data Management
          Bill McEachern
          try taking some training or doing the tutorials - the product is easier to use than any other CFD package I have ever used and I have used more than a few of them. You can have more than one study in a configuration but I never do and find nothing particularily onerous about this practice.

You delete configurations in SWX -not from Floworks.

You just double click on the confi in the tree and you switch to the config with the analysis - it takes maybe 2 seconds depending on how big the assembly is and they tend not to be all that big in a cfd study. Sounds like a SWX training issue.
            • Data Management
              Chase Caruth
              I appreciate all the help, Bill. I am merely an engineering student just trying to experiment with Floworks. For me, it's just for fun for now.
                • Data Management
                  Bill McEachern
                  Hi Chase,