18 Replies Latest reply on Jul 17, 2008 6:54 PM by 1-A5CHD1

PDMWorks Link = Empty folder

Jacqueline More
      OK, I've gone around with the VAR for over a week, not having much luck. I need to resolve this asap. I'm not IT savvy, and much of my PDM knowledge is self taught.

I just upgraded to a new workstation, xp pro 64 bit. I am running solidworks 2007 and pdm works enterprise 2007. The server software is 32 bit if that helps.

I've already made sure the pdm enterprise software installed in the program x86 folder vs the regular program files folder. I've edited the registry numerous times to delete the databases, vaults etc locally and tried re-connecting. Everything works smoothly thru the view setup wizard without any notices of issues. However, when I go to C:\ the PDM Works icon is not there, instead it is an empty folder.

Right now I am mapped to my PDM archive server via my laptop, but this is not an efficient use of my time. Every time I need to view something or check something out, I have to do it over on the laptop then come back to the workstation. This is slow and miserable.

How do I fix this? I worry I am now high and dry as I have not heard back from my VAR since Monday. Our local IT folks don't know enough about PDM to fathom a guess because everything goes as it should until we see that empty folder.

Thank you.
        • PDMWorks Link = Empty folder
          When in the vault, try going to the Tools menu, and selecting 'Work online'.

If that doesn't solve it, it most likely is an installation issue. As you noted in the other thread, your best best is to start from scratch. For instructions on how to delete what is left behind after you unistall PDMWE, search the knowledge base for solution S-012984.

You can tell if the workstation is using a 32 or 64bit system by going to Control Panel -> System. There should be a separate setup for the 64bit client, if I recal correctly.
            Jacqueline More