AnsweredAssumed Answered

When are settings saved?

Question asked by Mark Barltrop on Jun 18, 2016
Latest reply on Jun 18, 2016 by Dave Brukardt

It used to be that changes to "Tools/Options/Settings" were saved only on exiting Solidworks, by means of an orderly shutdown.

This caused much wailing and gnashing of teeth when (as often happens) a session ended not with a controlled exit but with a random crash.

Most users probably blamed themselves for thinking they'd made a change and finding that, apparently, they hadn't.

Is this still the case????

 

... and if it is, perhaps it's time it was fixed.


We need the "OK" button on each "Settings" page to trigger a save - yes I realise we can now save a .reg file from within Solidworks, and I guess that's a workaround for those who are making bulk changes... but I'm talking about routine incremental changes, made to the settings during this session, being automatically carried forward for future sessions.

Outcomes