7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 11, 2008 6:02 PM by Dan Whitaker

SW2008 Refuses to save my settings

Dan Whitaker
      Hi everyone,
      I have been using solidworks for about five years now and have never come across this problem. I am hoping someone can help me out! When I change a system setting, for example, I turn on shaded planes, I open a template up and the change is good for one time, then I close out and open up a template again the second time and its as if solidworks "resets" its settings and my shaded planes are now off, or whatever setting I had changed becomes unchanged. I have made sure all my access rights are set correctly, so what is going on!!!!
        • SW2008 Refuses to save my settings
          Albert Whatmough
          In order for SolidWorks to Save "settings" you need to close SolidWorks down. If SolidWorks crashes (not that it ever does) before you close it down then your settings will not be saved.
            Charles Culp
            For some reason my parts/assemblies always open up in "shaded with edges" instead of just shaded. I quit trying to figure it out and assumed it was just a bug. I have not noticed this with any other settings. Which settings are not saving for you?
              Dan Whitaker
              SW will save my settings if I simply open up solidworks change a setting and re-open sw. My problem is that I put on shaded planes and it saves that setting but then when I open a document it it turns them off again? Why, its a system setting not a document setting, if it is a bug then it is an annoying one. Also, when I customize my toolbars it keeps the icons but seems to change the location of where I put them everytime I re-open the file.
                Dan,

Has this happened since the very first time you used it after your last install of SW?