10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 5, 2008 6:13 PM by 1-9C36HC

Loft or sweep technique

Justin Binkley
      Hello Fellows.

I'm new to the world of surfacing and I was wonder what may be the best and most favoriable technique in complete this geometry. I completed the sketch and I'm having a hard time replicating the profile. Any ideas and suggestion I would appreciate it.

please reference the attached jpeg. I would like to attached the sldprt file but for some reason it prompts by saying the file it tried to upload isn't allowed. Is there any setting in my personal profile that I have to change to enable me to upload part files.

Sorry guess it turned into 2 questions...

Thank you,
        • Loft or sweep technique
          Troy Peterson
          I can help with the second question. All files other than JPG need to be zipped before uploading.
            Charles Culp
            Justin,

Your question depends on the result you are looking for. .zip and uploading the model would definitely help. Are you looking for a smooth transition and constant wall thickness? What is the function for each of the three holes after they are combined (I could make some assumptions, but we all know where that leads)?
              Justin Binkley
              Everyone.

I'm sorry for not responding until now. I had been tired up. Thank you for answering the file uoloading question. Please see the attachment.

To provide more design requirements; The part in fabricated out of 11GA S/S. To accurately show this model you will have a multi-piece transition in the curve rather than a smooth unrealistic curve. My intentions are to make a robust model because I would like to then create a design table to show different iterations by size requirement..

FYI. Attached is the autocad file I'm working from. Not sure if SW can create a good 3D model from this 2D file.

Thank you,
                  Leonardo Sanchez
                  Or like this ... or that
                      Justin Binkley