5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 15, 2008 5:04 PM by Charles Culp

PLACING HOLE DIMENSIONS

Don Aldridge
      I am not able to figure out how to dimension holes on a model. I draw the sketch from the right plane and dimension everything out, (no holes yet). When I turn the sketch into the model I use the hole wizard to create the first hole and then the circular pattern tool to to space six holes around the diameter. At this point I need to dimension the hole center from the edge of the part. Nothing I try is working, so what am I missing ? As you can guess I am new to Solid Works as well as the world of CAD so be easy on me. Another hiccup I seem to be having is trying to figure out how to draw wrench flats on the model. Am I wrong in trying to do these steps on the model? I am sure during the essentials class we were doing these types of things on the model.Thanks for any help, Cooper
        • PLACING HOLE DIMENSIONS
          Charles Culp
          Yes, you should do everying in the model. There are only a few minor things that I suggest putting on just the drawing. One of those is text that goes on the part (stampings and markings). There are even times when that belongs on the model, too.

To dimension a hole in a drawing view:
          Select the Smart Dimension tool.
          Select the edge of the part (it will turn green).
          Select the edge of the hole.

Now you should have a dimension from the edge of the part to the center of the hole. Does this technique work for you? If not, maybe you can post a screenshot?
              Don Aldridge
              Thanks for your help Charles,