3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 14, 2008 2:37 PM by Suresh B

Cosmos Professional

Derek Bishop
      I am a mechanical engineer involved in the design of plant for the mining industry. I'm currently evaluating Cosmosworks Professional. I would really appreciate some feedback from people who have used the software.

Some questions that spring to mind are:
      - What was the application,
      - How did you find the results ie. accuracy,
      - Any problems running the software.

Thanks,

Derek Bishop
        • Cosmos Professional
          Suresh B
          Malcolm,
          I have been using CosmosWorks for almost 2yrs now.I work for an OEM dealing with Valves and actuator for Oil & Gas industry.
          CosmosWorks is good design analysis tool especially for complex design or profile and saves you a lot of time.The Key is to ensure that you apply your loads and restraints correctly.The results can vary significantly depending upon your loads/restraints so pay close attention to it.
          Depending upon your computer capability runnning a FEA on a large assembly can be taxing your machine pretty good.The FEA report that you can generate from the software indicates the loads you appplied and the resultant output.But it doesn't show its math calculation sheet or where all have you applied the load or restriants in your report print out.However, you can show on the study model by selecting "show loads/restraints" under loads/restraint on the Cosmos analysis manager on the left hand side.
          I always use math calculations to validate my FEA results and sometime i find significant difference in the results. In my industry people are still old school so all our final decision is based on math calculations. And my manager prefers to go with the most conservative result so we are still safe in our design.

I hope this helps
            • Cosmos Professional
              Vince Adams