11 Replies Latest reply on Feb 18, 2016 4:10 AM by Ahmad Aufar

Transient thermal analysis...sandwich panels.....

Ilpo Viiliainen
      Has anyone tried to run transient thermal analysis on sandwich panel structures ?
      In this case sandwich is made of : sheet metal plate / rockwool / sheet metal plate.
      How is this kind of problem solved in cosmosworks or is it impossible to do that ?
        • Transient thermal analysis...sandwich panels.....
          Basil Gello
          Ilpo,

I have some experience in that and I think it is not more complicated than the transient analysis on coupled surfaces. So, first make the contact between the coincident surfaces (set the contact meshing node-to-node or similar), define your materials, assign the initial temperature for all your parts, define the temperature change, heat flux and radiation if necessary, and try to run the analysis... Hope the results will satisfy you.

Regards,Basil.

Ian Hogg
            Hi Ilpo,

I concur with Basil. This should be very doable in COSMOS. The main challenge (as always) is getting all the material properties depending on what you are studying. The thermal conductivity of Rock Wool insulation is readily found (e.g. http://www.rockwool.dk/sw44919.asp), but I've not seen any heat flux (problably since heat transfer to surrounding fluids not significant).

I am guessing you are interested in seeing the temperature transfer through from one side of the sandwich to the other through the rock wool to verify if it is adequately insulating 2 regions. Thermal conductivity should be adequate for that.

Cheers,

Ian
                Ilpo Viiliainen
                Basil and Ian,

Thanks for Your valuable information...
                I'll be studying this thermal problem more closely.
                I'll be back..maybe some new questions may rise on the way.

Best regards,
                Ilpo
                    Ilpo Viiliainen
                    Hi again...