7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 18, 2014 6:36 PM by Bill Rayner

Circular Pattern Underdefined?

Paul McGarr
      I am very new to Solidworks, so this might seem like a silly question, but this is what's happening.

I have a fully defined sketch consisting of simply a circle. I plan to use the circular pattern to rotate that hole around the origin of my part creating a circular pattern of six equal spacings. When I create that pattern, the five new circles are underdefined.

Shouldn't the fact that the source circle was fully defined be enough to satisfy the resultant circles? If not, what do I need to dimension to satisfy Solidworks?

I can pattern the feature instead of the sketch, but that doesn't feel right to me. I'd like to make use of the sketch when I can. It seems more straight forward to me.

Thanks in advance,

Paul
        • Circular Pattern Underdefined?
          Charles Culp
          Paul,

First, let me say that patterning the feature will probably create a faster rebuild time, so I always suggest using the feature pattern (or body pattern) tool, instead of a sketched pattern. So I do acutally suggest going that route instead.

To fully define your circular pattern, you must add a dimension between the original object, and the first in the series (of the pattern). This will fully define the pattern. Note that if you then change the dimension, it will adjust all the repeated sketches in the pattern.
              Paul McGarr
              Thanks everybody. I appreciate not being flamed on my first post!

Now I know how to do it as a sketch or as a feature. It sounds that in many cases it's best to pattern the feature, and I will keep that in mind.

I was afraid I would have to wait forever to get a reply from the group. Obviously I was wrong. I'll be back often I'm sure.

Thanks again,

Paul
              Mahir Abrahim